DUT co-hosts SITE and Gender Round-table

Research office pic

The Durban University of Technology jointly co-hosted the Research in Science, Innovation, Technology and Engineering (SITE) and Gender Roundtable together with the South African National Chapter of the Organisation for Women for the Developing World (OWSD SANC).

This roundtable was hosted by the Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAf) and the South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS), from the 15th -16th May 2017 at the Southern Sun Elangeni, Durban.
The workshop was mainly funded through GenderInSITE, an international initiative to promote the role of women in science, innovation, technology and engineering and demonstrate how applying a gender lens to SITE can provide deeper insights, more effective programmes and more sustainable outcomes in the context of development.

The discussions included presentations, panel and roundtable discussions on why gender in SITE; misconception of gender in research; case study examples of the DUT Urban Futures Center and engagement; ethical research and gender equity; the missing links and challenges to achieving gender parity in research and innovation; Mitigating against gaps and strategies for building research excellence in Africa; setting the scene for social determinants in health (SDH) case study; framing gender in research; gender and SDH: minding the gaps; interrogating the missing gender question in the statement. Particular recommendations and outcomes were made which will feed into the report for the OWSD –SAYAS-DUT initiative to be shared with the network and strengthen mentorship programmes for women in SITE and sustainable development.

Pictured are some of the Research in SITE and Round Table participants: Prof Jennifer Thomson (Emeritus Professor, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, UCT, OWSD-SANC President); Prof Sibusiso Moyo (Acting DVC(Research, Innovation& Engagement, DUT; OWSD SANC Vice-President); Prof Puleng Segalo (Head of Research and Graduate Studies, UNISA); Mr Stanley Maphosa (Liaison Manager & Programme Facilitator & Manager: ASSAf); Ms Edith Shikumo (SAYAS Secretariat); Ms Marvin Mandiwana (ASSAf Team Liaison); Ms Bernice Bancole (PhD student, UKZN); Dr Kira Erwin (UFC, DUT), Dr Sylvia Kaye (Peace Programme, DUT); Ms Nneka Akwu (UKZN); Dr Fadzai Mutseyekwa (ZIMYAS); Ms Janine White (WITS); Dr Naomi Nkealah (UNISA); Ms Vaneshree Govender (Research Capacity Coordinator, DUT); Mr Zenande Ndakisa (Research Intern, DUT).

Article supplied