FEBE Logo

 

Vision

To be known for excellence in producing relevant professionals, who use engineering, technology and design, for societal development in South Africa.

 

Mission

  1. To continually ensure that our graduates are socially relevant.
  2. To ensure that the professional career orientation of our students is informed by the relevant stakeholders.
  3. To provide an appropriate infrastructure to our students that will ensure technological excellence.
  4. To ensure that learning and teaching in the faculty is in line with student’s needs and latest innovative practices.
  5. To foster research and development that contributes to the national and international pool of knowledge, and that informs the undergraduate curriculum.

 

Overview

The Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment (FEBE) has more than 6 000 students enrolled across the departments of Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering and Survey, Construction Management and Quantity Surveying, Electrical Power Engineering, Electronic Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Town and Regional Planning, Architectural Technology and Mechanical Engineering.

FEBE will offer new degree programmes in 2018. The National Diploma and BTech qualifications will be phased out accordingly. Further information on the new degree programmes can be obtained from each department webpage. Masters and Doctoral courses are also available.

Focused research in areas including Membrane Technologies for Water Purification, Chemical Thermodynamics, Applied Computational Intelligence, Bio-composites/Nano-materials, Technology Station in Reinforced and Moulded Plastics, the Indlebe Radio Telescope, Real Time Power System Simulation, Renewable Energy, Transportation, Engineering Education, Sustainable Development and Human Settlement.


 

Professor Theo Andrew

Dean Theophilus Nethiekreethum AndrewPosition:
Executive Dean: Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
Telephone:
031 373 2762
Fax:
031 373 2668
Email:
prenitan@dut.ac.za

Professor Theo Andrew qualified and worked, lectured, and consulted in the field of Electrical Engineering for over 25 years. He is a Fellow of the South African Institute of Electrical Engineers (SAIEE), and served as its KZN Branch Chair and Honorary Vice-President, and as one of its Vice-Presidents. He is also a member of the International Society for the Systems Sciences (ISSS) and a founding member of the Board of the South African Society for Engineering Educators (SASEE). Professor Andrew is a member of the Higher Education Quality Council of South Africa.

Read more


 

Deputy Dean Paul MusongeProfessor Paul Musonge
PhD(Lond), DIC, FSAIChE, MCSE

Position: Deputy Dean: Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
Telephone: 031 373 2762
Fax: 031 373 2668
Email: paulm@dut.ac.za

Professor Paul Musonge joined the Durban University of Technology in 2012, after an international academic career across a wide range of English and French institutions; Ahmadu Bello University (Nigeria), University of Ngaoundere (Cameroon), University of Karlsruhe (Germany), University of London (UK), Willis College of Technology (Canada), Cape Pennisula University of Technology (South Africa) and the University of Cape Town (South Africa). He is a recipient of a number of Prestigious Research Fellowships and Visiting Academic status including the British Council Research Fellowship, Royal Society of London Research Fellowship, Rolls Royce (UK) Senior Research Fellowship, DAAD – German Research Fellowship at the Institute for Hydromechanics, University of Karlsruhe and the African Visiting Academic Fellowship at UCT.

Current interest is in the training of Postgraduate students in order to build capacity for the next Generation of Academics and Industry Leaders in developing countries. Research interests are in the areas of water treatment, renewable energy and engineering education. Current Grant Holder of a South African NRF Collaborative Post Graduate Supervision Grant of R2.685 million awarded in 2017. Collaborates with the Universities of Wits, Mangosuthu University of Technology, University of Kwa-Zulu Natal, Vaal University of Technology, Cape Penisula University of Technology, the CSIR, The Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai and Dharmsinh Desai University in India . Presently supervising over Postgraduate students. Published a combined total of over 50 Journal articles, book chapters, conference papers and technical reports.

 

 

Secretary Ms P Nadar
Tel: 031 373 2762
Fax:  031 373 2668
Email: prenitan@dut.ac.za

 


 

Please feel free to contact the relevant departments for further information.

Department HOD Secretary Tel Number Fax Number
Executive Dean Prof T. Andrew tandrew@dut.ac.za Ms Prenita Nadar prenitan@dut.ac.za 031-373 2762 031-373 2668

086 685 3541

Deputy Dean Prof P. Musonge paulm@dut.ac.za Ms Prenita Nadar prenitan@dut.ac.za 031-373 2762/2415 031-373 2668

086 685 3541

Architecture Mr L. du Plessis LoiusD@dut.ac.za Ms Nomthandazo Sibsi nomthandazos@dut.ac.za 031-373 2857/6532 031-373 2006
Chemical Engineering (incl. Pulp & Paper Tech) Dr Y. Isa YusufI@dut.ac.za Ms Khanyisile Ntuli khanyisilen@dut.ac.za 031-373 2218 031-373 2285
Civil Engineering & Surveying (Durban) Mr G. Hoosen hoosen@dut.ac.za Mrs Pauline Steel pauline@dut.ac.za 031-373 2224 031-373 2816
Civil Engineering (Midlands) Mr T. McKune tom@dut.ac.za Mrs Nicky Erasmus nicky@dut.ac.za 033-845 9000 (Pmb) 033-845 8941

(Pmb)

Construction Management & Quantity Surveying Mrs E. Hefer elkeh@dut.ac.za Mrs Anisha Pirthiraj anishap@dut.ac.za 031-373 2143 031-373 2610
Electrical Power Engineering Mr T. Akindeji timothya@dut.ac.za Mrs Regina Naidoo reginan@dut.ac.za 031-373 2062 031-373 2063
Electronic Engineering Dr S. Reddy (acting) seren@dut.ac.za Mrs Premi Chetty premi@dut.ac.za 031-373 2932 031-373 2744
Industrial Engineering Mr A. Naicker naickera@dut.ac.za Mrs Kershni Dhavraj kershnid@dut.ac.za 031-373 2445 031-373 2014
Mechanical Engineering Mr B. Graham (acting) bruceg@dut.ac.za Mrs Adele van Wyk adelev@dut.ac.za 031-373 2115 031-373 2139
Town & Regional Planning Ms R. Hansmann robynne@dut.ac.za Mrs Vashna Rabbiechun vashna@dut.ac.za 031-373 2673 031-373 2806
Faculty Officer Mrs N. Singh singhn@dut.ac.za   031-373 2718 031-373 2719
Computer Lab Mr L. Dlamini luckyd@dut.ac.za   031 -373 2129 086 674 0704

 

 

Faculty office desk  Contact person  Phone  Email
Faculty Assistant Mr Vusumuzi Mazibuko 031-373 2186 mazibukv@dut.ac.za
Faculty Assistant Ms Thandeka Zindela 031-373 3041 zathandekaz@dut.ac.za
Faculty Assistant Mr Saziso Mntolo 031-373 2716 sazisom@dut.ac.za
Faculty Assistant Ms Fathima Bi Bi Ally 031-373 3040 fathimaa1@dut.ac.za
Faculty Officer Ms Neetha Singh 031-373 2718 singhn@dut.ac.za