To be known for excellence in producing relevant professionals, who use engineering, technology and design, for societal development in South Africa.



  1. To continually ensure that our graduates are socially relevant.
  2. To ensure that the professional career orientation of our students is informed by the relevant stakeholders.
  3. To provide an appropriate infrastructure to our students that will ensure technological excellence.
  4. To ensure that learning and teaching in the faculty is in line with student’s needs and latest innovative practices.
  5. To foster research and development that contributes to the national and international pool of knowledge, and that informs the undergraduate curriculum.



The Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment (FEBE) has more than 6 000 students enrolled across the departments of Chemical Engineering, Civil Engineering and Survey, Construction Management and Quantity Surveying, Electrical Power Engineering, Electronic Engineering, Industrial Engineering, Town and Regional Planning, Architectural Technology and Mechanical Engineering.

FEBE will offer new degree programmes in 2018. The National Diploma and BTech qualifications will be phased out accordingly. Further information on the new degree programmes can be obtained from each department webpage. Masters and Doctoral courses are also available.

Focused research in areas including Membrane Technologies for Water Purification, Chemical Thermodynamics, Applied Computational Intelligence, Bio-composites/Nano-materials, Technology Station in Reinforced and Moulded Plastics, the Indlebe Radio Telescope, Real Time Power System Simulation, Renewable Energy, Transportation, Engineering Education, Sustainable Development and Human Settlement.


Professor Theo Andrew

Theo AndrewPosition:
Executive Dean: Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
031 373 2762
031 373 2668

Professor Theo Andrew qualified and worked, lectured, and consulted in the field of Electrical Engineering for over 25 years. He is a Fellow of the South African Institute of Electrical Engineers (SAIEE), and served as its KZN Branch Chair and Honorary Vice-President, and as one of its Vice-Presidents. He is also a member of the International Society for the Systems Sciences (ISSS) and a founding member of the Board of the South African Society for Engineering Educators (SASEE). Professor Andrew is a member of the Higher Education Quality Council of South Africa.

Read more


Professor Paul Musonge

Position: Deputy Dean: Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
Telephone: 031 373 2762
Fax: 031 373 2668
Email: paulm@dut.ac.za


Secretary Ms P Nadar
Tel: 031 373 2762
Fax:  031 373 2668
Email: prenitan@dut.ac.za



Please feel free to contact the relevant departments for further information.

Faculty office desk Contact person Phone Email
Faculty Office Helpdesk Ms Neetha Singh 0313732718 singhn@dut.ac.za
Architectural Technology Ms Nomthandazo Sibisi 0313732857 nomthandazis@dut.ac.za
Construction Management and Quantity Surveying Ms Anisha Pirthiraj 0313732143 anishap@dut.ac.za
Chemical Engineering Ms Khanyisile Ntuli 0313732218 Khanyisilen@dut.ac.za
Civil Engineering and Surveying (Durban) Ms Pauline Steel (Steve Biko Campus) 0313732224 pauline@dut.ac.za
Civil Engineering (Pietermaritzburg) Ms Nicky Erasmus (Midlands Campus) 0338458800 nicky@dut.ac.za
Electrical Power Engineering Ms Regina Naidoo 0313732062 reginan@dut.ac.za
Electrical Engineering (Light Current) Ms Premi Chetty 0313732932 premi@dut.ac.za
Industrial Engineering Ms Kershni Dhavraj 0313736314 kershnid@dut.ac.za
Mechanical Engineering Ms Adele van Wyk 0313732115 adelev@dut.ac.za
Town and Regional Planning Ms Vashna Rabbiechun 0313732673 vashna@dut.ac.za