Biomedical and Clinical Technology Handbook
Contact Details
Entry Requirements for Biomedical and Clinical Technology
Post Grad
Biomedical Technology Staff
Clinical Technology Staff
Sites of Interest
Snapshots of Biomedical Technology Programme



Important News regarding the phasing in of the Bachelor of Health Sciences: Medical Laboratory Science (BHSc: MLS) and the phasing out of the Bachelor of Technology: Biomedical Technology (B Tech: Biomed Tech) 


New Programme


The Biomedical Technology programme at DUT will be offering the Bachelor of Health Sciences Degree (BHSc) as from 2018. The BHSc qualification is a four-year professional degree that is internationally recognised which enables the student to specialise in one of the designated categories offered by the University.


Existing Programme

National Diploma: Biomedical Technology

The last intake of the ND: Biomedical Technology was in 2017 and there will be no further intake as the BHSc will be offered as from 2018.

Bachelor of Technology (B Tech)

The final intake for the B Tech degree will be in 2019; thereafter it will be phased out. Students that are keen on completing the B Tech degree should register on or before 2019 to meet this deadline.



In 2008, due to restructuring, the Biomedical Technology and the Clinical Technology programmes were amalgamated into one department called the Department of Biomedical and Clinical Technology. Prior to this they existed as two separate departments with separate Heads of Department etc.

The department is managed overall by the HOD. Each programme has a programme co-ordinator who deals mainly with academic management of the programme.

Departmental Mission

The Department of Biomedical and Clinical Technology develops skilled and competent learners by providing high standards of teaching, learning and research, whilst promoting and upholding professional values and ethics in response to the needs of the community and industry nationally as well as being committed to the continuous empowerment of staff.


The vision of the Department of Biomedical and Clinical Technology is to be the leading department nationally by producing proficient graduates that provide quality patient care.

Biomedical Technology comprises 4 specialist disciplines, viz microbiology, chemical pathology, cellular pathology and haematology.

Microbiology is the study of micro organisms, viz bacteria, viruses, parasites and fungi; the diseases they cause and their laboratory identification.

Chemical pathology concentrates on the study of chemical metabolites in the body and the effect of varying levels of these metabolites on human health.

Cellular pathology determines the status of human health at the cellular level; both gynaecological and non gynaecological specimens are examined and all abnormalities identified.

The cellular components of blood are the focus of haematology; all changes in shape, function, form and amounts are identified and linked to specific disease states.

In each discipline, students are thoroughly trained and prepared for industry. Our students are taught by academic staff with many years of industrial experience, using relevant practical sessions that are hands on. The department prides itself on providing quality industry appropriate training such that our students have consistently produced the highest pass rates in the HPCSA Board Examinations every year.

Entry Requirements

Bachelor of Health Sciences in Medical Laboratory Science Entrance Requirements
Bachelor of Technology Biomedical Technology Entrance Requirements
Master of Technology Biomedical Technology Entrance Requirements
Doctor of Technology Biomedical Technology Entrance Requirements

Bachelor of Health Science in Clinical Technology Entrance Requirements
Bachelor of Technology Clinical Technology Entrance Requirements
Master of Technology Clinical Technology Entrance Requirements
Doctor of Technology Clinical Technology Entrance Requirements

Applications to: Central Applications Office Website (C.A.O)

Post Grad

General Information to Post grad students 2017
Postgraduate Application Form 2017
2017 Proposed Web Page Nov 2017


Head of Department: Dr R Prakaschandra
Tel: 031 373 6885

Secretary: Mrs B Nene
Tel: 031 373 5411

Biomedical Technology
Programme Coordinator: Dr JN Mbatha
Tel: 031 373 5280

Clinical Technology
Programme Coordinator: Mr M Memela
Tel: 031 373 5293

Sites of Interest

Centres for Disease Control and Prevention
World Health Organisation