Executive Member Team


Professor Thandwa Mthembu

Vice-Chancellor and Principal

Professor Thandwa Zizwe Mthembu is an experienced academic and leader who joined the Durban University of Technology Community in October 2016 as […]

Prof Gwele

Professor Nomthandazo Gwele

Deputy Vice-Chancellors: Academic

Prof Gwele obtained her professional education and training as a nurse. She graduated from the Frere College of […]

Prof Meyiwa

Professor Thenjiwe Meyiwa


Professor Thenjiwe Meyiwa is a NRF rated scholar with extensive experience in higher education. Upon her appointment at DUT, she was employed by the […]

Prof Moyo

Professor Sibusiso Moyo

Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Engagement

Acting Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Engagement, Associate Director & Associate Professor in the Department of Mathematics, Statistics & Physics

Olugbara (1)

Professor Oludayo Olugbara

Executive Dean: Accounting and Informatics

Professor Oludayo, O. Olugbara is the leader of the ICT and Society (ICTAS) Niche Research Group and the Vice Chair of Space Science Research Group at […]


Professor Suren Singh

Executive Dean - Applied Sciences

Professor Suren Singh assumed the position of lecturer in September 1997 at the former M.L. Sultan Technikon (now DUT) when research was still at its […]


Dr René Smith

Executive Dean: Arts & Design

Dr Réne Smith is a media and development researcher, scholar and speaker. She has a PhD in Media and Cultural Studies from the University of […]

Dean Theophilus Nethiekreethum Andrew

Professor Theo Andrew

Executive Dean: Engineering and the Built Environment

Professor Theo Andrew qualified and worked, lectured, and consulted in the field of Electrical Engineering for over 25 years. He is a Fellow of the […]


Professor Ashley Ross

Acting Executive Dean: Health Sciences

Rishi-Balkaran (1)

Prof Rishi Balkaran

Executive Dean: Management Sciences

Prof Balkaran has been a member of staff at the institution for 14 years. He served in the capacity of Lecturer and Senior Lecturer within the […]

Dheo Kumar

Mr Dheo Kumar

Chief Financial Officer

Mr Dheo Aswanth Kumar is the Chief Financial Officer at the Durban University of Technology (DUT) and has served the institution for twenty years. He […]

Saleem Kharwa

Mr Saleem Kharwa

Chief Risk Officer

Saleem Kharwa is a professional accountant and joined the University in 1996 as lecturer in the Department of Accounting. He served as HOD of […]


Sipho Cyprian Ngidi

Acting Director: Human Resources Management

Sipho Cyprian Ngidi is an independent business professional with over 30 years’ experience in shaping people systems in the corporate sector. He […]

Dr Gops Chetty

Dr Gops Chetty

Senior Director: Policy, Planning and Projects

Dr Martin Mandew

Dr Martin Mandew

Campus Director: Midlands Centre

Dr Mandew assumed his duties in July 2013. He has extensive experience in the field of higher education. He worked as an Academic Development Tutor at […]