

RESEARCH FACILITIES

The Department hosts the Eskom-funded RTPSS Centre and the Energy Systems for Smart Cities Research Group. The key research facilities available at Durban University of Technology and other shared proxy facilities at Partner-Universities include:

- Real Time Power System Simulation Centre, RTPSS Laboratory which is an advanced multi-rack ultra-powerful real-time digital simulator for protection engineering studies, design, analysis and relay testing.
- HVDC Laboratory which focuses on High Voltage Direct Current (DC) engineering, design, analysis and testing. (UKZN)
- HVAC Laboratory which focuses on High Voltage Alternating Current (AC) engineering, design, analysis and testing. (UKZN)
- **SMART Grid Research Laboratory** A state-of-the-art modern facility for training/research development (modelling, simulation and real-time analysis) of Smart Technologies and the integration of various RE technologies into the Grid. (MUT/UKZN)
- Vibration Research and Testing Centre (VRTC) which focusses on overhead transmission lines, mechanics of conductors, insulators, line supports and vibration analysis. (UKZN)

The following are two proposed new facilities:

- **OPAL-RT, Micro-Grid Laboratory** This proposed new facility will focus on applications of micro-grids in LV distribution networks, including design, analysis and testing.
- Voltage Source Converter High Voltage Direct Current (VSC-HVDC) System
 Laboratory This is a proposed new facility which focuses on application of high power
 electronics in power systems and grid integration of renewable energy.