



American Council of Education Fellows Programme at DUT, 27 June 2017

- 10:30 Arrival at DUT City Campus for Tour to be hosted by Dr. Rene Smith, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Design.
- 11:45 Depart City Campus for M L Sultan Campus, accompanied by Dr. Rene Smith and Mr. Deva Govindasamy.
- 12:00 LUNCH:

Welcome by Dr. Lavern Samuels, Director, International Education & Partnerships.

Overview and History of DUT: Dr. Gops Chetty, Senior Director, University Planning.

Framing of the Learning Exchange: To be presented by Prof. Kevin Allison, ACE Fellow, Senior Assistant to the President Virginia Commonwealth University.

13:30 Shared Learning Panel 1: Engagement and Higher Education in Regional Economic Development:

> DUT Panelists: Prof. Darren Lortan; Dr. Poppet Pillay; Prof. Sibusiso Moyo, DVC, Research and Engagement. ACE Discussant: Dr. Angela Radford Lewis will address economic development.

- 14:15 Shared Learning Panel 2: <u>International Partnerships</u>: DUT Panelists: Dr. Lavern Samuels, Dr. Rene Smith and Dr. Strini Pillay ACE Discussant: Dr. Dale-Elizabeth Pehrsson will cover internationalization.
- 15:00 Tea
- 15:15 Shared Learning Panel 3: <u>Tuition, Cost and Financing of Higher Education</u> DUT Panelists: Prof. K. Ndlovu, DVC, People & Operations; Prof. Suren Singh, Dean, Faculty of Applied Sciences; Mr. Mags Govender, Senior Manager, Financial Resources. ACE Discussant: Dr. Carey-Butler will discuss tuition.

16:00 Shared Learning Panel 4: <u>Activism on Campus</u>: DUT Panelists: Dr. Crispin Hemson, Prof. Monique Marks, Prof. Nirmala Dorasamy ACE Discussants: Dr. Rosenthal and Dr. Hampton will engage around activism.

18:00 Dinner hosted by DUT at the Coastlands on the Ridge/Musgrave Hotel's Restaurant, located on the Ground Floor.

Each DUT Panelist should come prepared to make Introductory Remarks for 5 Minutes on their specific Topics. On each Shared Learning Panel session, there will be responses from the visiting ACE Fellows, Prof. Kevin W. Allison, Senior Assistant to the President Virginia Commonwealth University ; Dr. Sylvia R. Carey-Butler, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Support of Inclusive Excellence University of Wisconsin Oshkosh ; Dr. Valerie J. Hampton, Chief Diversity Officer at Binghamton University; Dr. Angela Radford Lewis, Associate Vice Provost for Undergraduate Programs, Curricula, and Service East Tennessee State University: Dr. Dale-Elizabeth Pehrsson, Dean College of Education and Human Services; Director of Professional Education Central Michigan University; Dr. Alisa Rosenthal, Associate Professor of Political Science and Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies; Director, John S. Kendall Center for Engaged Learning Gustavus Adolphus College; Dr. Matthew Sewell is a graduate of Williams College (B.A. English) and Johns Hopkins University (Ph.D. English); Dr. Patricia Thatcher, Associate Provost.

(Bios attached).