

UNIVERSITY STATEMENT

30 October 2019

To all DUT stakeholders

A communiqué was circulated on 13 August 2019, where you were advised that the DUT Council had appointed an Independent Inquiry that will investigate and report on:

- the incidents that led to the tragic and fatal shooting of DUT student, the late Mr Mlungisi Madonsela; and
- the incidents that led to the injury to staff, outside the Steve Biko campus in Durban on Tuesday, 5 February 2019; and
- the causes of the student unrest that commenced early in the 2019 academic year; and
- steps that the University could take to better manage student protests.

Kindly take note that the Independent Inquiry, which was constituted by the Council of the Durban University of Technology, will commence with its first session on Monday, 11 November 2019.

The Inquiry will be Chaired by the Honourable Justice Khayelihle Kenneth Mthiyane, the former Deputy President of the Supreme Court of Appeal. The second member of the Independent Inquiry is Professor Muxe Nkondo, who is a former Vice-Chancellor at the University of Venda.

The Inquiry panel may request specific members of staff and students to appear before it, in order to assist by providing specific information that may be required. Council requests that all stakeholders support and assist the Honourable Justice Mthiyane and Professor Nkondo in the execution of their duties with the Inquiry.

In addition, if any staff member, student or individual intends to table evidence and to appear in front of the Independent Inquiry, please could you contact:

Mrs Nalini Krishun Registrar's Office 0313732519

krishunn@dut.ac.za

Please provide your full contact details, affiliation to the University, as well as information relating to the nature of the evidence that you wish to provide. Your request to appear before the Inquiry will be assessed by an appointed, independent, evidence leader for the Inquiry and after discussions with you, you could be scheduled at specific times on specific dates. These dates and times are subject to change, based on the prerogative of the Chairperson of the Inquiry, the Honourable Justice Mthiyane.