World University Rankings - Top 500



The Department of Food and Nutrition Consumer Sciences at the Durban University of Technology (DUT) recently hosted a virtual awards ceremony.

“I know it has not been an easy 2020 and 2021, with many restrictions post on us due to COVID. We all had to adjust to new way of doing things. This includes staff and students. I think we have not done too badly so well done to all of us. Today I have the honour of congratulating all the winners and outstanding performance,” said Head of Department: Food and Nutrition Consumer Sciences, Dr Helen Grobbelaar.

Businessman and DUT Food and Nutrition alumna, Simphiwe Zuma imparted words of support to the awardees. “Being good in food industry is about practice and familiarity. I am not where I want to be, but I don’t know where I would be without this course, it just needs you to decide on what you love and find opportunities. I know some of you have achieved good academic records but to be honest with you, once you graduate there comes a time where you must put all of that into practice. It may hurt so much if you are to sit at home and not use what you have learnt and worked so hard to achieve,” said Zuma.

Zuma further encouraged students to have a positive outlook on their work and always aim for improvements of their skills. “Be positive, be optimistic and always give your effort to improve the quality of your work. For those who are still searching for work I advise that you don’t stop applying and you need to know that in the process of waiting for something big you must keep achieving smaller things, so that even if the big things take time, you don’t feel that the waiting was a waste of time. Congratulations on your achievements and may God bless you all,” he added.

DUT’s Sinenhlanhla Memela then presented the awards to students as follows:


Recognition of 2020 class representatives:

Thobekile Nhleyama, first year.

Thandeka Mthimkhulu, second year.

Terri-leigh Green, second year.

Sisanda Ludidi, third year.

Levi Rungasamy, Advanced Diploma.

Mirriam Cassim, Bachelor of Technology degree (Btech).

Certificate of Appreciation:

Shannon Pillay: Coordinated the 2020 food forward food drive.

Sibusisiwe Mkhize: Coordinated the 2020 food forward food drive.



A Sherwood Books R1000 voucher was given to Lungile Nhlanhla

for being the Best Overall Food Skills Student.

Kerry Ingredients – Recipe Development Project 3rd Years:

R3000: Siphosethu Nase, Fundiswa Molife, Zanele Mndayi and Terisha Yenketsamy.

R2000: Thandoluhle Mthiyane, Kwazi Mlungwana, Maisha Mathole, Zuzile Mfeka, Keren Gwey, Lucy Labana, Ashlen Naidoo, Sayur Ramsunder.

Spar Group: BTech Recipe Development Project Food and Food Science IV:

(R300): Yugeshni Govender, (R500): Yolanda Mhlwatika and (R1000): Phindile Dlamini.

Suncat R300 Checkers Voucher for Most Improved Student with Good Work Ethic:

Sbongakonke Ndaba.

Clarice King- R2000: Best Academic:

BTech student: Arlene Govender, Third year student: Sisanda Ludidi.

Jean Brydone- R2000: Best Academic:

Second Year Student: Siphosethu Nase, Advanced Diploma Student: Gugu Mnguni.

WL Cole-Bursary Best Academic:

First Year Student: Nausheena Hoosen.

Department Award: Best Toastmaster’s Student:

Sandile Shange.

Spar Group: Advanced Diploma: Food and Food Science IV:

(R300) Levi Rungasamy, (R500) Samkelisiwe Dumakude and (R1000) Nontokozo Madlala.

Hotel Requisite R2000 Hirsch Voucher for Creative Recipe Development Project:

Sanelisiwe Mzimela, Amanda Nzama, Nqobile Ngcobo and Lungile Nhlanhla.


Pictured: WL Cole-Bursary Best Academic: First Year Student, Nausheena Hoosen.

Pictured: DUT students Maisha Mathole and Zuzile Mfeka for best Recipe Development Award.

Nikiwe Sukazi

No comments