Spring Graduation
Ceremonies 2023
World University Rankings - Top 600

DUT’s Food and Nutrition Department Students honoured for their Achievements

DUT’s Food and Nutrition Department Students honoured for their Achievements

The Department of Food and Nutrition Consumer Sciences held its annual students award ceremony at the Rendezvous restaurant at Steve Biko campus.

Attended by students, staff, parents and alumni within the Faculty of Applied Sciences, the award are aimed at recognizing students who have excelled throughout the year in the department. These are students from first year to Btech level.

The departments’ HOD, Sue Vermeer, congratulated the students on their hard work and strength of mind. “Your determination to achieve has paid off and all the best for the future,” she said. Furthermore, she thanked all the companies that generously sponsored the awards and staff members who had contributed in making the 2017 awards a great success.

Guest speaker and DUT alumni, Khutso Masethe, urged students to keep up the good work and study hard. “During my years of studying, I was eager to learn more about food. After being a student for three consecutive years, I received the departmental award for best culinary art food,” he said.

Third-year-student Saffia Hassanally, who received three awards, namely for highest aggregate over three years, best academic food communications III student and best academic student in FFSC301, said her hard work paid off.  She urged students who were studying in the same field, to set goals and look nowhere else but ahead.

“You alone are the creator of your future, so decide on what you want to achieve and go for it. A daily dose of hard work and dedication goes a long way, just think positively and keep the faith,” said Hassanally.

Sponsors who had contributed towards the awards were Clarice King, Deli Spices, McCain Food, Umhlanga Toast Masters, Unilever, Incasa Spices, Adams and Fedics.

Pictured: Departments’ HOD Sue Vermeer and top achieving student Saffia Hassanally, during awards ceremony.

Photo credit: Jeremiah Christopher Sylvester

Nomfundo Ngcobo

No comments