Back to Home Page


lucy Head of Department: Dr Lucy Njoki Kariuki
Tel: 031 373 5282
Email: lucyk@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Courses Currently Teaching: Plant Protection II, Plant Material Studies III,
Horticultural Production Management IV
Research and Innovation focus: Genetic Studies in Invasive Plant Species
Genetics, commercialization and conservation of indigenous ornamentals, indigenous vegetables and medicinal plants

View Profile


Dhiren Govender Lecturer: Mr Dhiren Munsami Govender
Tel: 031 373 5233
Email: dhireng@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Courses Currently Teaching: Horticulture 1; Turfgrass Culture
Research and Innovation focus: Demands side analysis of skills in HORTICULTURE with the Green Economy Context in SA,
Turfgrass science,
Human Resource aspects in the Horticultural Industry


I  Govender Lecturer: Mrs Indrani Govender
Tel: 031 373 5285
Email: indranig@dut.ac.za
Location: Block B, 5th Floor
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Courses Currently Teaching: Plant Material Studies 1, Plant Material Studies 2, Environmental Studies 1, Environmental Studies 2
Research and Innovation focus: Aquatic ecology, Environmental conservation, Environmental management


Astrid Badenshorst Lecturer: Mrs Astrid B Badenhorst
Tel: 031 373 5105
Email: astridb@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Courses Currently Teaching: Horticulture II, Horticulture III, Horticulture Production Techniques IV, Horticultural Mechanisation, Growth Media Technology
Research and Innovation focus: Alien Invasive plants


Jonathan Foley pic Lecturer: Mr Jonathah Bernard Foley
Tel: 031 373 5285
Email: jonathan@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Courses Currently Teaching: School of Horticulture Coordinator and Lecturer All 3rd year practical training and assessment
Research and Innovation focus: Currently enrolled at UKZN for doctoral studies Biodiversity messaging to Generation Y students


chris daniels Senior lecturer: Dr Chris Daniels
Tel: 031 373 5125
Email: chrstiaand@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Courses Currently Teaching: Plant Protection 2, Plant Material Studies 3, Research Methodology, Horticulture Production Technology 4
Research and Innovation focus: Plant propagation, Hydroculture, Tissue culture, Nursery irrigation, Plant growth regulators, Plant physiology, Antioxidants, Medicinal plants, Environmental stress effects on plants


Thagen Anumanthoo Senior Technical Assistant: Thagen Anumanthoo
Tel: 031 373 6420/5124
Email: thagena@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Thandeka Masondo Secretary: Ms Thandeka Phindile Masondo
Tel:  031 373 5124
Fax: 086 743 6240
Email: thandekam@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

General Assistants:

Hageshen Naicker Hageshan Naicker
Tel: 031 373 6420/5124
Email: hagashenn@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Nosipho Nokwindla Nosipho Nokwindla
Tel: 031 373 6420/5124
Email: nosiphon@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Linda Khanyile Linda Khanyile
Tel: 031 373 6420/5124
Email: lindanik@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus