Back to Home Page


Dr Ignatious Matimati Head of Department: Dr Ignatious Matimati
Tel: 031 373 5125
Fax: 031 373 5131
Email: ignatiousm@dut.az.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus 

Dhiren Govender Lecturer: Mr Dhiren Munsami Govender
Tel: 031 373 5233
Email: dhireng@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Courses Currently Teaching: Horticulture 1; Turfgrass Culture
Research and Innovation focus: Demands side analysis of skills in HORTICULTURE with the Green Economy Context in SA,
Turfgrass science,
Human Resource aspects in the Horticultural Industry


I  Govender Lecturer: Mrs Indrani Govender
Tel: 031 373 5285
Email: indranig@dut.ac.za
Location: Block B, 5th Floor
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Courses Currently Teaching: Plant Material Studies 1, Plant Material Studies 2, Environmental Studies 1, Environmental Studies 2
Research and Innovation focus: Aquatic ecology, Environmental conservation, Environmental management


Astrid Badenshorst Lecturer: Mrs Astrid B Badenhorst
Tel: 031 373 5105
Email: astridb@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Courses Currently Teaching: Horticulture II, Horticulture III, Horticulture Production Techniques IV, Horticultural Mechanisation, Growth Media Technology
Research and Innovation focus: Alien Invasive plants


Jonathan Foley pic Lecturer: Mr Jonathah Bernard Foley
Tel: 031 373 5285
Email: jonathan@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Courses Currently Teaching: School of Horticulture Coordinator and Lecturer All 3rd year practical training and assessment
Research and Innovation focus: Currently enrolled at UKZN for doctoral studies Biodiversity messaging to Generation Y students


Dr Mack Moyo Senior lecturer: Dr Mack Moyo
Tel: 031 373 5282
Email: mackm@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan

Courses currently teaching: Plant studies 1, Plant studies 2, Research Methods, Horticultural Production Techniques.


Thagen Anumanthoo Senior Technical Assistant: Thagen Anumanthoo
Tel: 031 373 6420/5124
Email: thagena@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Ms Sphelele Mhlophe Secretary: Ms Sphelele Mhlophe
Tel: 031 373 5124
Email: sphelelem@dut.ac.za
Location: 41-43 ML Sultan Road, MB5-18
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

General Assistants:

Mr Andile Mkhize Mr Andile Mkhize
Tel: 031 373 6420
Email: AlfredM1@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Nosipho Nokwindla Nosipho Nokwindla
Tel: 031 373 6420/5124
Email: nosiphon@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Linda Khanyile Linda Khanyile
Tel: 031 373 6420/5124
Email: lindanik@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Mr Snothile Mdunge Mr Snothile Mdunge
Tel: 031 373 6420
Email: Snothim@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus