World University Rankings - Top 500

Jacobs Is The Proud Recipient of the 2019 Abe Bailey Travel Bursary

Jacobs Is The Proud Recipient of the 2019 Abe Bailey Travel Bursary

“Being a leader is not a job profile, it is a lifestyle. It is what comes naturally to me, what I enjoy doing and it is what gives meaning to my life. I believe the Abe Bailey Travel Bursary provides young leaders with an incredible opportunity to not only grow as leaders but also to bring change,” said an elated Izanne Jacobs.

The charismatic fifth-year Durban University of Technology Chiropractic Master’s student is the proud recipient of the esteemed 2019 Abe Bailey Travel Bursary. DUT hosted a celebratory tea for Jacobs in honour of her outstanding triumph, at the Health Science Boardroom, on Thursday, 12 September 2019.

DUT Health Science staff, International Education and Partnerships staff, external stakeholders, Jacob’s proud parents, friends, siblings were also in attendance to congratulate Jacobs on her success.

The Abe Bailey Travel Bursary is awarded to outstanding students who have shown exceptional leadership qualities with strong service ethics, qualities that Jacobs undoubtedly possesses and was clearly evident in her winning the award.

The objective of the Travel Bursary Scholarship is to broaden the views of young South Africans by enabling outstanding students who show exceptional leadership qualities and a strong service ethic to effect greater understanding and co-operation among those with various language and cultural backgrounds; to foster enterprise, commitment and effective participation in a common future as well as to promote South African unity.

Jacobs thanked the DUT Director of the International Education and Partnerships, Dr Lavern Samuels and his team for making this wonderful opportunity possible.

“An opportunity like the Abe Bailey travel bursary will help every leader to be able to be authentic about who they are and stand for what they believe in. Leadership programmes such as the Abe Bailey Trust enables leaders to develop their skills, to be different from the rest of the world and to bring change in their communities by including all individuals and seeing every single person for who they are and the potential they have. As a leader it is my responsibility to grab hold of any opportunity that comes my way to better myself and help grow a better future for generations to come,” she said.

Dr Lavern Samuels, DUT Director of the International Education and Partnerships, said DUT is really proud of her and as an Abe Bailey winner she is now following in the footsteps of previous winners such as Judge Richard Goldstone, Dr Zach De Beer and the late Phillip Tobias, to name but a few.

“Jacobs now also has the privilege to be part of such a legacy with such stalwarts and become a great ambassador for South Africa and DUT. Also, this is a very prestigious travel bursary that has opened up possibilities for many South Africans for the past 40 years. Their academic achievements and leadership achievements need to be clearly demonstrated in their application as the selection is done purely on details provided on the paper application,” he said.

He also thanked his former staff Lalitha Singh for her tremendous dedication and contribution to their office, especially towards the Abe Bailey Travel Bursary.

Also congratulating Jacobs was Dr Jerry Mohape: Acting Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences, who said that her winning such a prestigious award was quite life-changing, and she made DUT extremely proud.

Jacobs further added that being awarded the Abe Bailey Travel Bursary will equip her to be able to inspire people and lead them in a way that will cultivate a victory mind-set and boldness in each individual that she might lead in her lifetime.

Jacobs leaves for the United Kingdom in November 2019.

Pictured: At the celebratory tea are Dr Lavern Samuels, and Izanne Jacobs, (recipient of the 2019 Abe Bailey Travel Bursary).

Waheeda Peters

No comments