New SRC Leadership Sworn In At The University

New SRC Leadership Sworn In At The University


Thamsanqa Memela was officially sworn in as the new Student Representative Council (SRC) president at the 2019/2020 Student Representative Council (SRC) Inauguration Ceremony, on Friday, 6 September at the Fred Crookes Sport Centre, Steve Biko Campus.

In attendance were Professor Thandwa Mthembu (Vice-Chancellor and Principal), Professor Sibusiso Moyo (DVC: Research, Innovation and Engagement), Dr Isaac Machi (Deputy Vice – Chancellor: People and Operations), Professor Suren Singh (Executive Dean of the Faculty of Applied Sciences), Dr Maditsane Nkonoane (Dean of Students), Dr Thiru Pillay (Registrar), Mrs Thulile Duma (Programme Director), DUT staff, former and present SRC members, and DUT students.

Welcoming the new SRC members was Registrar Dr Thiru Pillay, who congratulated the new SRC members, as well as highlighted how important their role at the University was.

“The inauguration ceremony is a ceremony to mark the official start of something, this ceremony is to mark that. We also acknowledge our respect for the SRC and the role that they play by holding this ceremony each year when the new SRC is elected,” he said.

Giving the keynote address was DUT’s Vice-Chancellor and Principal Professor Thandwa Mthemu, who said that SRC members are quite important to DUT. “I would like to acknowledge our gratitude to all students at the University for having participated in the SRC elections we just had peacefully and without worrying incidents; it shows that we are on a path to ensuring that we engage in SRC elections, we follow all the principles of democracy that have been developed in this country for many years now, and so for that I welcome all our students to the ceremony. I want you to lead by example, and you have all the skills and the knowledge that puts you in all positions to lead the way in society. I wish to extend my gratitude to the outgoing SRC and all students leaders that were involved in all sorts of activities and mobilisation that led to such a successful election,” he said.

Prof Mthembu also stressed that management was keen to work with the newly-elected SRC to ensure that problems students faced were addressed.

Outgoing Acting SRC President Lindani Zungu, was also excited to officially hand over the SRC duties to the current leadership. He also said in his farewell speech that the SRC has no room for corrupt individuals, who want to advance their materialistic ambitions at the expense of poor, needy students.

The newly elected SRC president Memela stated that he was ecstatic to be elected by the students, and he and his team aimed to address issues that are pertinent to the students, especially on gender based violence.

The new members are: Thamsanqa Memela (President), Sibusiso Mzozoyane(Deputy President-Pietermaritzburg), Nhlakanipho Sithole (Secretary), Andisiwe Dyantyi Deputy Secretary), Phindugcobe Sigedle (Treasurer), Njabulo Sangweni (Projects Officer-Durban), Asanda Xayiya (Projects Officer- Pietermaritzburg), Gugulethu Hadebe (Social Welfare-Durban), Athenkosi Mdala Social Welfare-Pietermaritzburg), Aphelele Ndabazandile (Sports Officer-Durban), Siphokazi Makhathini Sports Officer-Pietermaritzburg), Cebolenkosi Buthelezi (Organisation and Accommodation-Durban), Xolane Mnculwane (Organisation and Accommodation-Pietermaritzburg), Zamangwane Dlamini (Education and Transformation-Durban) and Samukelisiwe Mchunu (Education and Transformation-Pietermaritzburg).

Pictured: The newly elected SRC members.

Waheeda Peters

No comments