World University Rankings - Top 100

DUT Journalism leads in KZN says new Chair

DUT Journalism leads in KZN says new Chair

Media statement by Prof Nqabomzi Gawe, Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Institutional Support

DUT Journalism leads in KZN says new Chair

Senior journalist and current KZN Editor of the Sowetan Bureau, Mary Papayya has been appointed Chairperson of the Journalism Advisory Board at the Durban University of Technology for the next 2 years. Membership of this board, which meets 3 times a year, is open to the journalism fraternity. Papayya is the first woman chair of the Board. Mbali Dhlomo (Genuine Magazine) is the Deputy Chair.

DUT alumnus, Papayya has previously served on a number of journalism structures and is the current deputy Chair of the South African National Editors’ Forum (SANEF) in KwaZulu-Natal. She has worked with other top journalists in shaping the future and direction of journalism both in industry and journalism training in the Province.

The board aims to promote communication between the training institution, employers and members of the media profession; to provide a forum for the exchange of information and advice with regard to: – curriculum, syllabi, internship, professional society and professional board activities.

Papayya is proud to announce that DUT Journalism is the leading journalism school in the province and has been providing quality education and training for the past 30 years. “Key to the success is the internship programme which guides and prepares students as future journalists for the print, online and broadcast media in KZN and SA.”

Papayya adds that the board is a structure that focuses on new developments within the DUT journalism fraternity. It is structure that is designed to pursue excellence in journalism and to ensure that DUT journalism and its stakeholders maintain the edge when it comes to the media space.

“The Journalism advisory board plays a strategic role in enhancing the professional working relationship between DUT Journalism and various players in the field of journalism. The board has been truly blessed through the years by enjoying the expertise and experience of high-calibre people who have and still give off unselfishly. The input received through regular meetings of the board have been invaluable in shaping the training of our students within the parameters of a university of technology. It is no secret that graduates from DUT Journalism enjoy high recognition and thereby occupy senior positions in journalism, both nationally and internationally.” Advocate Robin Sewlal, Associate Director: Journalism

Past and current members of the board include senior journalists in the media including Cyril Madlala – Umafrika (now KZN Government); Sunny Bramdaw (Chair) Judy Sandison (SABC); Ashok Ramsarup (SABC); Chris Backeberg (Republican Press – 1st Chair); Zoubair Ayoob (The Mercury); Peter Rice (Radio Khwezi); Praveen Naidoo (former Daily News); Hilda Grobelaar (Kwana Newspapers); Patricia McCracken (Freelance); Ami Nanackchand (former SABC); Mbali Dhlomo (Genuine Magazine); Sipho Sokhela (YMCA); David Hotchkiss (KNI Radio) and Deva Govindsamy (US Consulate) and Salma Patel (SABC).

Past chairs are: Thulani Mbatha (former Editor of Isolezwe now Sunday Times Isizulu: Chair – 2010-2009); David Canning (former Editor, now consulting/coaching editor of The Mercury: Chair 2006-2008) and Cyril Madlala (of Umafrika: Chair – 2004-2005).

For more information, please contact Bhekani Dlamini on 031 373 2845 who will facilitate the interview.