Leadership Conference logo 08-04-16

Complexities of Leadership in the 21st Century

25 – 26 August 2016

International Convention Centre (ICC) Durban




Conference Overview

Visionary leaders have the ability to see a preferred future, operate in the present, and utilize the resources around them to map out a clear path to a new future. Leaders of Tomorrow imagine a future that is rich and full of hope. A future where problems are solved, questions are answered and new frontiers are created.


Click on the links below to expand


  • Leading growth and innovation
  • Thriving amidst uncertainty
  • Building enduring organizations
  • How should individuals and organizations best prepare for expanding and innovating
  • Coping with faster rates of change and greater uncertainties
  • Building leadership teams and organizational architectures that are competitive and sustainable


  • Courageous Leadership
  • Ethics of Higher Education in Social Justice
  • Positioning Women for Leadership
  • Panel Discussion:
            M’ Generation in Higher Education
            Risk and Resilience: Fear of Failure
            ‘Breaking the Glass Ceiling’
    A Success Story!
  • Vampires and Zombies: A Typology of Leadership in Higher Education
  • Complexities in Higher Education and Collaboration between Universities
  • Engaging Transformation in Higher Education
  • Panel Discussion:
            Community Engagement
            Business and Corporate Engagement
            University Engagement
  •  Innovation for Sustainability within Education

Who should attend

  • Those occupying leadership and managerial positions
  • Corporate and Private Enterprise
  • Women in Leadership
  • Public and Private Universities
  • Community / Technical Colleges
  • High Schools Principals


Durban University of Technology (DUT)


Adv. Thuli Madonsela

Professor Ahmed Bawa

Professor Brian Figaji

Professor Loyiso Nongxa

Professor Pumla Gobodo Madikizela

Professor Anthony Collins

Professor Sibusiso Moyo

Professor Thenjiwe Meyiwa

Dr Adriana Marais

Dr Rama Naidu

Dr Bernadette Johnson

Dr Stan Hardman

Ms Lindiwe Rakharebe

Ms Ela Gandhi

Mr Eric Apelgren

Professor Monique Marks

Gala Evening Entertainment

Natalie Rungan and Masood Boomgaard (A combination of Jazz and Comedy)

Conference Registration Fee

(The registration fee includes all Conference Sessions, three teas, two lunches, and the Gala Dinner)
Delegates Registration Fees
Delegate Fees R 4000


icc logo



Download the Leadership Conference 2016 – Registration Form – External Delegates

Banking Details:

Name of Bank:

Standard bank

Branch Name:


Account Name:

Durban University of Technology

Branch Code:


Account Number:


DUT Vat Reg. No:


Please quote the following reference FHU3, 301374 when making a deposit / EFT followed by your initial and surname. Please email proof of payment with your signed registration form to anushaj@dut.ac.za



Forms received without payment will not be processed until payment is received.

For further information, please email manoshni@dut.ac.za/anushaj@dut.ac.za