Handbook Clinic Research Accreditation Student Support Staff

The Department of Chiropractic is a dynamic Department within the Faculty of Health Sciences at the Durban University of Technology. The programme was started in 1989 and besides for being accredited by the South Africa authorities (CHE and SAQA as agents of the DoHET) it has international accreditation with the European Council on Chiropractic Education (ECCE). The programme consists of a 4-year professional bachelor’s degree (BHSc : Chiropractic) followed by a master’s degree (MHSc : Chiropractic). Which are the minimum qualifications for registration with the statutory council: Allied Health Professions Council of South Africa (AHPCSA). The programme aligns itself with the Clinical and Professional Chiropractic Education position statement (https://www.cmcc.ca/documents/international-chiropractic-education-collaboration-position-statement.pdf).

In the South African context, a chiropractic practitioner is concerned with the diagnosis, treatment and prevention of neuro-musculo-skeletal disorders and the effects that these disorders have on the nervous system and general health. Chiropractic treatment focuses on manual therapies such as spinal manipulation, other joint and soft tissue treatments. In addition the chiropractor acknowledges the biopsychosocial model of health care and may provide nutritional, exercise therapy, stress management, electrotherapy, massage, acupuncture and traction, amongst other modalities. The chiropractic practitioner cares for the human frame in health and in disease, and refers to other health care providers when necessary. There a several opportunities to obtain post graduate training in fields such as sports and pediatrics.

Clinical and Professional Chiropractic Education



Global Leaders in Chiropractic Education and Scholarship.



“Developing Chiropractors for Holistic Neuro-Musculoskeletal Health Care”


  • Evidence-based Teaching and Learning
  • Innovative Research
  • Responsive Engagement and Collaboration with Communities



Professionalism – To abide by professional and regulatory frameworks, ethics and good practices.

Integrity – To demonstrate qualities  of good character and honesty.

Accountability – To be responsible and answerable for our choices, actions and behaviours.

Transformation – Being able to adapt to change in an evolving healthcare system.

Ubuntu – Respect, goodness and goodwill to all.



  • MTech Chiropractic

The process of application for the Chiropractic Programme:

  • All applicants need to apply to the Central Applications Office.
  • All applications that fully meet the requirements of application submission, will be required to undergo an assessment as part of the selection procedure.
  • All applicants that complete the required assessment will be required to attend an interview.
  • From the interview pool of applicants, successful applicants will be informed of their selection for registration.

The requirements for application for the Chiropractic Programme:

Persons applying must be over 17 years of age, physically fit.


Master’s in Technology Degree in Chiropractic

Applications to: Central Applications Office(C.A.O)


Contact Information

Head of Department: Dr D Varatharajullu
Tel: 031 373 2533
Email: DesireeV@dut.ac.za
Location: Ritson Campus



Secretary: Ms K Pillay
Tel: 031 373 2094
Email: kershp@dut.ac.za
Location: Ritson Campus