Back to Biotechnology and Food technology


BIOTECHNOLOGY & FOOD TECHNOLOGY – STAFF PROFILES 


Swalaha Head of Department: Prof Feroz Mahomed Swalaha
Tel: 031 373 2689
Email: fswalaha@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-9184-1360
SCOPUS ID: 6505713815
Qualification & Institution: DTech (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Water and wastewater treatment, water-borne microbial pathogens, biostatistics

Phillips Secretary: Mrs. Priscilla Phillips
Tel: 031 373 5321
Email: phillipp@dut.ac.za
Location: S9 Level 1
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Area of Expertise: Office Administration

Permaul Professor: Prof Kugen Permaul
Tel: 031 373 5327
Email: kugen@dut.ac.za
Location: S9 Level1
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0001-5032-3092
SCOPUS ID: 15078201000
Qualification & Institution: PhD (UKZN)
Area of Expertise: Expression and application of glycohydrolases

Kudanga Professor: Prof Tukayi Kudanga
Tel: 031 373 5286
Email: tukayik@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0003-0958-9846
SCOPUS ID: 56056164600
Qualification & Institution: PhD (TUGraz, Austria)
Area of Expertise: Enzyme Biotechnology, Biocatalysis, Biomaterials

Amonsou Professor: Food Technology: Prof Eric Amonsou
Tel: 031 373 5314
Email: eamonsou@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: PhD Food Science (UP)
ORCID ID: 0000-0001-6299-0466
SCOPUS ID: 26021735700
Area of Expertise: Functional food biopolymers

Ijabadeniyi Associate Professor: Prof Oluwatosin Ademola Ijabadeniyi
Tel: 031 373 5310
Email: oluwatosini@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-6283-8517
Qualification & Institution: PhD Food Science (UP)
Area of Expertise: Food Safety and Quality

Pillai Senior Lecturer: Biotechnology: Dr Santhosh Kuttan Pillai
Tel: 031 373 5329
Email: santhoshk@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0003-3474-1555
SCOPUS ID: 57194010507
Qualification & Institution: DTech: Biotechnology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Biomass bioconversion to bioenergy and value-added products; Microbial metabolites; Bioactive peptides and their industrial applications

Sabiu Senior Lecturer: Dr Sabiu Saheed
Tel: 031 373 5330
Email: sabius@dut.ac.za
Location: S9 Level1
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: PhD (UFS)
ORCID ID: 0000-0001-7209-9220
SCOPUS ID: 56530797400/56534012900
Area of Expertise: Drug Discovery/Development, Phytotherapeutics, and Viral Metagenomics

Juglal Senior Lecturer: Biotechnology: Ms Sarla Juglal
Tel: 031 373 5642
Email: sarlaj@dut.ac.za
Location: B Block, 1st Floor
Campus: ML Sultan Campus
Qualification & Institution: MTech: Biotechnology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Microbiology, Medical Mycology

Beekrum Lecturer: Food Technology: Ms Sharlynn Beekrum 
Tel: 031 373 5326
Email: sharlynn@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-4430-0422
Qualification & Institution: MTech: Food Technology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Food Product Development/ Quality/ Processing

Govender Lecturer: Dr Algasan Govender
Tel: 031 373 5355
Email: algasang@dut.ac.za
Location: S9 Level1
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0003-1107-7110
SCOPUS ID: 36504152900
Qualification & Institution: PhD (UKZN)
Area of Expertise: Molecular Biology/ Enzyme Technology

Nyawose Junior Lecturer: Ms. Zikhona Truth Nyawose
Tel: 031 373 5333
Email: ZikhonaN@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: MAppSc (Food Sci & Tech) (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Food Science

Puri Senior Laboratory Technician: Research: Dr Adarsh Kumar Puri
Tel: 031  373 2349
Email: adarshp@dut.ac.za
Location: S9 Level1
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-2261-413X
Qualification & Institution: PhD (University of Delhi)
Area of Expertise: Environmental Biotechnology, Microbiology, Fermentation, Molecular Biology

Makolomakwa Senior Research Technician: Mr Melvin Makolomakwa
Tel: 031 373 5283
Email: gaositwem@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: MTech: Biotechnology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Enzyme technology

Brijlal Senior Technician: Biotechnology: Ms Rena Brijlall
Tel: 031 373 2061
Email: renab@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution BTech: Biotechnology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Biotechnology

Mellem Technician: Biotechnology: Ms Kameshnee Mellem
Tel: 031 373 5325
Email: kameshneen@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko
Qualification & Institution: MTech: Biotechnology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Biotechnology

A Arnold Mudzannani Laboratory Assistant: Mr. Azwimpheleli Arnold Mudzanani
Tel: 031 373 5283
Email: azwimpheleliM@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: BTech: Biotechnology (VUT)
Area of Expertise:
Biotechnology 

Elliot Ncayiyana Technical Assistant: Mr. Zwelakhe Elliot Ncayiyana
Tel: 031 373 5283
Email: zwelakhen@dut.ac.za
Location: B Block, 1st Floor
Campus: Steve Biko
Qualification & Institution: PG Dip: Management (UKZN)
Area of Expertise: Local Economic Development

Dwarka Postdoctoral Research Fellow: Dr Depika Dwarka
Tel: 031 373 5283
Email: depikad@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko
Qualification & Institution: PhD Biology (UKZN)
Area of Expertise: Human Cell Culture and Phytochemistry

Dlangamandla Postdoctoral Research Fellow: Dr Nkosikho Dlangamandla
Email: nkosikhod@dut.ac.za
Location: B Block, 1st Floor
Campus: Steve Biko
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-5653-519
SCOPUS ID: 57193389390
Qualification & Institution: DEng Chemical Engineering (CPUT)
Area of Expertise: Chemical Engineering, Enzymology
and Bioprocessing

Bhagwat Postdoctoral Research Fellow: Dr Prashant Bhagwat
Email: prashantb@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0001-5790-7824
SCOPUS ID: 55817440600
Qualification & Institution: PhD Microbiology (Shivaji University)
Area of Expertise: Bioremediation, Microbial enzymology, Bioactive peptides

Folami  Postdoctoral Research Fellow: Dr Abimbola Motunrayo Folami
Email: Abimbolaf@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0001-5862-1465
SCOPUS ID: 39261289000
Qualification & Institution: PhD Biotechnology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Computational and molecular biotechnology; Environmental health/virology; Bioenergy and phytoremediation

Tshabuse Postdoctoral Research Fellow: Dr Freedom Tshabuse
Tel: 031 373 5283
Email: freedomt@dut.ac.za
Location: B Block, 1st Floor
Campus: Steve Biko
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-9183-3379
Qualification & Institution: PhD (UCT)
Area of Expertise: Metagenomics

default-avatar-e1448374196642 Postdoctoral Research Fellow: Dr Londiwe Simphiwe Mbatha
Email: prashantb@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0003-2310-9714
Qualification & Institution: PhD (UKZN)
Area of Expertise: Biotechnology

Samantha Govender Senior Technician: Food Technology: Ms Samantha Govender
Tel: 031 373 2738
Email: govends@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: MTech: Food Technology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Food processing, Food chemistry

Dilrajh Lab Technician: Mr Vee Dilrajh
Tel: 031 373 5309
Email: veed@dut.ac.za
Location: S9 01 Food tech laboratory
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification(s): NHD Food technology (NT)

Bio: Food technologist 21 years experience in Food industry and 20 years in Academia. Proficiency areas-Food product development, analytical testing of food products ,ingredients, packaging (microbial ,physical and chemical), industrial food processing and staff training. Working with food technology students and also assisting start up food companies and entrepreneurs.

Area of Expertise: Food science & technology


Viresh Mohanlall Senior Lecturer: Biotechnology: Dr Viresh Mohanlall
Tel: 031 373 5426
Email: vireshm@dut.ac.za
Location: B Block, 1st Floor
Campus: ML Sultan Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-0103-7089
SCOPUS ID: 14825471800
Qualification & Institution DTech: Biotechnology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Phytochemistry and drug development

Dhani Laboratory Technician: Ms Sharon Govender Dhani
Tel: 031- 373 6305
Email: sharong@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: MTech: Biotechnology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Biotechnology

Naicker Technician: Biotechnology: Ms Predeshini Naicker
Tel: 031 373 5311
Email: naickerp@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: BTech: Biotechnology (DUT)

Mbamali Laboratory Technician: Ms. Siphiwengesihle Mbamali
Tel: 031 373 5325
Email: siphiwengesihled@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko
Qualification & Institution: BTech: Biotechnology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Biotechnology

Prof John Mellem Associate Professor: Dr John Mellem
Tel: 031 373 5592
Email: johnm@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
ORCID ID: 0000-0002-4784-699X
SCOPUS ID: 41361686800
Qualification & Institution: DTech: Food Technology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Bioactive peptides to address non-communicable diseases

Mohanlall Technician: Food Technology: Ms Ravika L Mohanlall
Tel: 031 373 5746
Email: ravikam@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: BTech: Food Technology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Food science & technology

Charlene Pillay Lecturer: Biotechnology: Dr Charlene Pillay
Tel: 031 373 5332
Email: charlenep@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Post Doctoral Fellows

Dr Jetendra Roy Enzyme Technology jetendrar@dut.ac.za 031 373 5355
Dr Algasan Govender Enzyme Technology algasang@dut.ac.za 031 373 5355
Dr Adarsh Puri Enzyme Technology adarshp@dut.ac.za 031 373 2349