Back to Biotechnology and Food technology


Feroz Mahomed Swalaha Head of Department: Prof Feroz Mahomed Swalaha
Tel: 031 373 2689
Email: fswalaha@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Kugen Permaul Professor: Prof Kugen Permaul
Tel: 031 373 5327
Email: kugen@dut.ac.za
Location: S9 Level1
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Tukayi Kudanga Professor: Prof Tukayi Kudanga
Tel: 031 373 5286
Email: tukayik@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Sarla Juglal Senior Lecturer: Biotechnology: Ms Sarla Juglal
Tel: 031 373 5642
Email: sarlaj@dut.ac.za
Location: B Block, 1st Floor
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Viresh Mohanlall Senior Lecturer: Biotechnology: Dr Viresh Mohanlall
Tel: 031 373 5426
Email: vireshm@dut.ac.za
Location: B Block, 1st Floor
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Eric Amonsou Professor: Food Technology: Prof Eric Amonsou
Tel: 031 373 5314
Email: eamonsou@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

John Jason Mellem Senior Lecturer: Food Technology: Dr John Mellem
Tel: 031 373 5592
Email: johnm@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Dr Sabiu Saheedd Senior Lecturer: Dr Sabiu Saheed
Tel: 031 373 5330
Email: sabius@dut.ac.za
Location: S9 Level1
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Oluwatosin Ijabadeniyi Professor: Food Technology: Prof Oluwatosin Ademola Ijabadeniyi
Tel: 031 373 5310
Email: oluwatosini@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Santhosh Kuttan Pillai Senior Lecturer: Biotechnology: Dr Santhosh Kuttan Pillai
Tel: 031 373 5329
Email: santhoshk@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Charlene Pillay Lecturer: Biotechnology: Dr Charlene Pillay
Tel: 031 373 5332
Email: charlenep@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Sharlynn Beekrum Lecturer: Food Technology: Ms Sharlynn Beekrum
Tel: 031 373 5326
Email: sharlynn@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Peter Clark Lecturer: Food Technology: Mr Peter Clark
Tel: 031 373 5332
Email: peterc@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Dr Algasan Govenderr Lecturer: Dr Algasan Govender
Tel: 031 373 5355
Email: algasang@dut.ac.za
Location: S9 Level1
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Rena Brijlall Senior Technician: Biotechnology: Ms Rena Brijlall
Tel: 031 373 2061
Email: renab@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Predeshini Naicker Technician: Biotechnology: Ms Predeshini Naicker
Tel: 031 373 5311
Email: naickerp@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Sharon Govender Technician: Biotechnology: Ms Sharon Govender
Tel: 031 373 5311
Email: sharong@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Siphiwengesihle K S Dlungwane Technician: Biotechnology: Ms Siphiwengesihle K S Dlungwane
Tel: 031 373 2475
Email: siphiwengesihled@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Technician: Biotechnology: Ms Kameshnee Mellem
Tel: 031 373 2475
Email: kameshneen@dut.ac.za
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Samantha Govender Senior Technician: Food Technology: Ms Samantha Govender
Tel: 031 373 2738
Email: govends@dut.ac.za
Location: S9 Level3
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Vee Dilraj Lab Technician: Mr Vee Dilrajh
Tel: 031 373 5309
Email: veed@dut.ac.za
Location: S9 01 Food tech laboratory
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification(s): NHD Food technology

Bio: Food technologist 21 years experience in Food industry and 20 years in Academia. Proficiency areas-Food product development, analytical testing of food products ,ingredients, packaging (microbial ,physical and chemical), industrial food processing and staff training. Working with food technology students and also assisting start up food companies and entrepreneurs.


Ravika L Mohanlall Technician: Food Technology: Ms Ravika L Mohanlall
Tel: 031 373 5746
Email: ravikam@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Elliot Ncayiyana Technical Assistant: Mr Elliot Ncayiyana
Tel: 031 373 5283
Email: zwelakhen@dut.ac.za
Location: B Block, 1st Floor
Campus: ML Sultan Campus

Mr Melvin Makolomakwa Senior Research Technician: Mr Melvin Makolomakwa
Tel: 031 373 5283
Email: gaositwem@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

A Arnold Mudzannani Laboratory Assistant: Mr AA Mudzanani
Tel: 031 373 5283
Email: azwimpheleliM@dut.ac.za

Post Doctoral Fellows

Dr Jetendra Roy Enzyme Technology jetendrar@dut.ac.za 031 373 5355
Dr Algasan Govender Enzyme Technology algasang@dut.ac.za 031 373 5355
Dr Adarsh Puri Enzyme Technology adarshp@dut.ac.za 031 373 5355