Prof Suren Singh Executive Dean: Faculty of Applied Sciences: Professor Suren Singh
Tel: 
031 373 2720
Email: singhs@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: PhD: Microbiology (UKZN)

Bio: Professor Suren Singh joined the academic realm of Durban University of Technology in September 1997 when he assumed the position of lecturer at the former M.L. Sultan Technikon. His arrival ignited the spark of curiosity and discovery which resulted in a much-awaited impetus to research at the then Technikon. Within five years, he established a core research group in Industrial Biotechnology and achieved a Y2- NRF rating in 2002; a C1- NRF rating in 2007 and 2012; and a B3- NRF rating in 2018.Read more

Area of Expertise: Teaching and Learning, Research 

Kudanga Deputy Dean: Prof Tukayi Kudanga
Tel: 031 373 5286
Email: TukayiK@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: PhD: Biotechnology (Graz University of Technology, Austria)
Area of Expertise: Biotechnology
ORCID ID: 0000-0003-0958-9846
SCOPUS ID: 56056164600

nirvana Secretary to Executive Dean: Ms Nirvana Kemlall Naidoo
Tel: 031 373 2720
Email: nirvanan@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus

Faculty Office
Steve Biko Campus, S4 L3
Tel: 031 373 2506
Fax: 031 373 2175

Gill Faculty Officer: Ms Gill Shackleford
Tel: 031 373 3033
Email: gills@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: BTech: Management (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Student Administration, Academic Support

nivar Academic Development Practitioner: Mr Nivar Somaru
Tel: 031 373 3042
Email: NivarS@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: BSS LAW (UKZN), MBA (RBS)
Area of Expertise: Curriculum Development, Student Development, Staff Development, Grant Management and Intervention Strategies

M Quality Promotions Officer: Mrs Sacha Maharaj
Tel: 031 373 3037
Email: sacham@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: Masters in Management Sciences (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Quality Assurance and Promotion in Higher Education Teaching, Learning and Assessment Curriculum Development

Mellem Acting Faculty Research Officer: Mrs Kameshnee Mellem
Tel: 031 373 5325
Email: kameshneen@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: MTech: Biotechnology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Biotechnology and Research Administration

Jer Faculty Finance Officer: Mr Jermaine Pillay
Tel: 031 373 2901
Email: vasedevanp@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: Bachelor of Commerce Honours Degree (Regent Business School)
Area of Expertise: Finance

Faculty Assistants

Nons Faculty Assistant: Ms Nonhlanhla Purity Ngwazi
Tel: 031 373 2717
Email: nonhlanhlan3@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: BTech: Office Management and Technology (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Administration of the following departments: Biotechnology & Food Science, Chemistry, Clothing and Textile Studies and Physics

Spha Faculty Assistant: S’phamandla Lesley Masuku
Tel: 031 373 3036
Email: spha@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: BTech: Operations Management (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Administration of the following departments: Food & Nutrition: Consumer Science Horticulture, Maritime Studies and Sport Studies

Ayanda Administration Assistant: Ayanda Matilda Mthethwa
Tel: 031 373 3031
Email: ayandam2@dut.ac.za
Campus: Steve Biko Campus
Qualification & Institution: Currently completing Dip.Management Sciences: HR (DUT)
Area of Expertise: Administration, General Student Queries.